What Are The 4 Majors In Golf?

Last update:

What Are The 4 Majors In Golf?

The four major championships in golf are:

The Masters

what are the 4 majors in golf
Augusta National

The Masters Highlights

  • Always finishes on the second Sunday of April
  • Held at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, GA
  • Started by Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts in 1934
  • A Green Jacket is awarded to the winner every year
  • Maybe the toughest ticket in sports to get
  • The most prestigious of the majors

The PGA Championship

PGA Championship Highlights

  • Held in May, the weekend before Memorial Day
  • Hosted by the Professional Golfers Association of America
  • PGA teaching professionals can qualify to play
  • The winner receives the Wanamaker Trophy

The U.S. Open

U.S. Open Highlights

  • Tournament put on by the USGA (United States Golf Association)
  • Typically this is the toughest course setup of the year
  • This is the oldest tournament in the U.S.
  • Usually held in June

The Open Championship (also called the British Open)

The Open Championship Highlights

  • The last Major of the year
  • Held at a rotation of courses in Scotland and England
  • Tournament is ran by the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews
  • Typically the courses are links courses and it is very windy
  • The winner receives the Claret Jug every year

If you are reading this post, you are probably new to the game of golf. That’s great! We would love to teach you more about the game we love. Head over to our Beginners page to learn more.

Other popular posts:

Photo of author


Hi, my name is Thomas. I love to play golf and play to a 7.4 hdcp currently. My goal is to help people learn the game of golf and have more fun playing.

Leave a Comment